Mayawati will not contest the UP Assembly Polls

Mayawati will not contest the UP Assembly Polls


Mayawati will not contest the UP Assembly Polls

In the last Assembly Elections in Uttar Pradesh, the BJP had won 312 out of the 403 seats. The Samajwadi Party and the Congress had contested together. However still they could win just 54 seats.

The Samajwadi Party won only 47 seats and Congress seven. Fighting all alone the Bahujan Samajwadi Party had won 19 seats, swamping the Congress.

This year in June itself, Mayawati had announced that her party will once again contest the polls all alone. This was in spite of a strong media reports of a tie-up with the All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen.

It is on record that Mayawati, who has been the chief minister of the state, has never contested an Assembly election in Uttar Pradesh before. Even this time, the Bahujan Samaj Party chief Mayawati will not contest the upcoming Uttar Pradesh Assembly elections, party leader Satish Chandra Misra said on Tuesday, according to ANI.

Misra said he too will not contest the polls. Only time will tell, if they fear facing the people verdict for themselves in clear contrast to their Party Candidates.

Misra has gone on to claimed that this time it was the turn of the Bahujan Samaj Party to win the elections and form the Government in Uttar Pradesh. He said that neither the Samajwadi Party nor the Bharatiya Janata Party will come to power in the state and asserted that the Bahujan Samaj Party is going to form the government in Uttar Pradesh.

“If Samajwadi Party does not have 400 candidates, how will they win 400 seats?” he asked.

The State elections to the 403-seat Uttar Pradesh Assembly will be held in seven phases on February 10, February 14, February 20, February 23, February 27, March 3 and March 7. The results will be announced March 10. Goa, Punjab, Manipur and Uttarakhand are also going to polls.